New Job Opportunity

I wasn’t looking for a new job…one may have found me.  I found out that a full-time position just came available in a company that has advancement capabilities and it is a job that I can really do well  First, let me give you some history.

I was ALWAYS a good student. Some called me a teacher’s pet.  I didn’t agree completely with that nickname, but it mostly fit.  I was the student that no one was ever worried about, they knew that I would always succeed.  Therefore, no one noticed that I had low reading comprehension and no one ever suggested careers that I might be good at or love.  So anytime anyone asked me what I wanted to be, I made it up.  How could I admit that I didn’t know? that I had no dreams?  The only thing that I knew for sure was that I would be a mom.

As I got closer to graduating high school, I felt a lot of pressure (from myself and college prep advisors) to decide what I was going to go to college for.  My driving force was having a career and proving that I was smart.  So I thought…”I’ll go premed”, but I didn’t want to be a doctor, I just knew that doctors had a certain prestige.  I loved singing and acting, but knew that those weren’t attainable careers.  One teacher said, “You should be a Math Teacher!”  She said this because I was really good in math and was always able to help my classmates understand.  But I didn’t want to be a math teacher.   They get paid shit, get no respect from students, and…BORING.  But when it came down to deciding on a course of study, majoring in math seemed to be the right decision. Seventeen years later (two years after finally getting my BS in Math), I became a math teacher.  I’m a good math teacher, but I was right when I thought, “They get paid shit”.  This is especially true when the teaching position is part-time AND term-to-term.  I have no guarantee of classes.  Every term, I pray that I will get enough classes the next term.  I supplement the teaching with a part-time math tutor position (there are no full-time tutor positions).  So in a good term, I get the equivalent of 18 hr/wk for teaching and 16 hr/wk tutoring.  I am near the bottom of the seniority list, so I have to wait til about 50-60 people pick classes before I can.  Last month, I got called to pick my classes for winter term 2 weeks after students started registering for the classes.  I got two classes, but then they cut off teaching assignments after me.  I was ecstatic that I got classes, but scared for spring term.  Enrollment is always lower in spring term, so if I was the last to pick classes for winter term I have almost no chance of getting classes spring term.  If I don;t get classes spring term, we won’t be able to afford rent.  I am almost 40 years old and I still don’t have a secure job that pays me a livable wage.  I have spent the last 20 years working multiple jobs many times averaging 50-60 hr/wk and barely getting by.  Since Mercy almost died this year and my schedule was effecting my health, I needed to reduce my workload to no more than 40 hr/wk.  I know that many people are in worse situations than I, so I try not to whine, but…

So now to the topic at hand, job opportunity:

The new position is for an office administrator, in a 2 person office.  Which seems, at first, as a step down in stature.  The actual job is to make sure that the boss is always prepared for clients, is nudged to keep getting clients, and that the office runs smoothly.  Well the one thing that I always tried to do at every job that I have had is make the ‘office’ more efficient.  This was never in my job responsibilities, but it is something that comes naturally to me and no one ever objected to me doing it.  So at all my jobs, I would try to find ways to save time and money for the boss.  There were even times that this slightly hurt my own job.  I had a boss who loved that I was saving him time and money, but he never acknowledged it or complemented/rewarded me for it.   I even lost hours and benefits in the process of increasing his profits in other ways.  I was born to be an efficiency expert.  I just didn’t know it.  When my friend told me about this new position and the duties that it required, I realized that this was what I was made for.  I never could put into words (or my resume) that this was what I really wanted to do.  I always knew that there were jobs that I didn’t have the exact experience for, but that I was beyond qualified for.  I have even had people that have said that my brain and talents were wasted in my jobs, but they could never tell me what I should be doing and I never knew either.  Is this new position the ‘perfect’ job?  Who knows?  But I think that it is the right decision to try for it.

So my application is submitted and my phone interview is scheduled.  I have been highly recommended for this job, so I have an advantage, but I still have to go through all the normal steps in the hiring process.  I am trying not to get my hopes up too high, but I know that the boss is interested.  He is afraid that he won’t be able to pay me well enough, but I think that is because he has a misconception of my current pay.  Whenever anyone hears that I am a teacher, they think about full-time teacher’s pay, which I don’t make.

One obstacle that I do have is that the job is M-F 8-5 kind of job and I want to teach one of the two classes that I am signed up for in winter term.  The class is one that I helped to create, so it is designed for me to teach.  Future terms, someone else could teach it, but I feel that the department and the students would be short changed if I dropped out from it.  Also, winter term is only 4 weeks away, so it could really leave them in the lurch.  My friend, who recommended me for this job, said that the new boss would probably work with me on this, so it may not be an obstacle after all.

I somewhat feel like I am counting my chickens before they hatch, but I don’t know how to not think about all the pros/cons and scenarios.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

