Vice?

What vice can I not abide in others?

I saw this daily Prompt and immediately wanted to write….about what though?

Well, first what is a vice?

Taken from Wikipedia:

Vice is a practice, behavior, or habit generally considered immoral, depraved, or degrading in the associated society. In more minor usage, vice can refer to a fault, a negative character trait, a defect, an infirmity, or a bad or unhealthy habit (such as an addiction to smoking). Synonyms for vice include fault, depravity, sin, iniquity, wickedness, and corruption.

The opposite of vice is virtue.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vice

I’m sure that the Daily Prompt is talking more about the minor usage of the word vice as most do.

I’m struggling with this question because I’m not bothered by others’ vices.

In order to consider it a vice, wouldn’t I have to feel that the practice was immoral, depraved, sinful, wicked, or even just unhealthy?  In that case, I can’t abide by murder, rape, and pedophilia.

If I think of it as a negative character trait?  I can’t abide by judgement, negativity, and unhealthy image standards..

And if I think of it as something that I don’t care for myself and can’t understand why anyone would like it?  I can’t abide by network television series, energy drinks, and flat brimmed baseball caps.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/02/19/daily-prompt-rick-roll/

 

2 Comments

Filed under Daily Prompts

2 responses to “Vice?

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Never Gonna Give You Up | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: of vanity | Anawnimiss

Leave a Reply

