Nothin’ but a Good Time

All my obligations and duties are canceled?  I’m gonna add a little more to that…my bank account is also not empty  AND I get the whole weekend!  I might as well get a little greedy.

Off to the coast I go to fly kites, walk on the beach, visit the aquarium and then hit the boardwalk and go shopping!

My camera won’t be out of reach the whole weekend…but my phone will!

cropped-wet-beach-and-rocks.jpg

It just so happens that the weather is beautiful, just enough wind for the kites and the sun keeps us warm enough that my shoes stay off the entire time at the beach.  I have a shoe fetish, but I also LOVE to be barefoot.  Does that make any sense?

The kites stay in the air long enough so I’m not constantly chasing them down the beach, but not so long as to be boring.  We brought the trick kite too and it is spectacular.  I’ve finally mastered tricks that don’t just turn into dive bombs.

All the dogs on the beach come up for a polite hello and scratch behind the ears.  Their parents (owners) even stop to chat for a few minutes and ask how long we’ve been kite enthusiasts and where to buy them.

We’ve remembered to bring a picnic this time, so we don’t have to leave the beach just because we are hungry.  Sammiches (Mercy rolls her eyes and chuckles), pasta salad, fresh veggies and dip, Coke (I am addicted), and a fruit salad.   We’ll still need to stop at the ice cream shop for Mercy, I’ll get some caramel corn.

It’s the first trip to the coast in ages that I’ve had sunglasses (I haven’t been able to get prescription sunglasses in years)….I love my transition lenses.

After we get tired, we’ll head to the hotel.  We’ll splurge and stay at the resort on the bay, with the jacuzzi tub…maybe have some champagne.

It’s now time to shop.  We’ll head to the cat store.   I don’t hate dogs, but most pet stores are 90% dog stuff and 10% cat stuff…not true at the Cat Store! It’s 100% cats.  So many stores on the boardwalk even have shop pets.  I love walking into a little shop and being greeted by the family dog or cat.

We have to stop into our favorite gallery/gift shop.  Maybe we’ll buy something for the wall or a piece or two of jewelry.  I have had my eye on those colorful leaf shadow boxes, or maybe the wood sculpture mosaics.

Oh my is that my sister and brother-in-law?   must have had the same idea.  We agree to meet for dinner and then are off shopping again.  Ok, we really keep going to the same shops because we all share lots of the same quirky tastes.

Now on to the clothes store that I never go into because the won’t have my size.  They’ve branched out realizing that the average woman is not a size 4.  I find a few outfits that are perfect, but there’s more.  They have my boots that I have been searching for, made for a normal calf, not too skinny.

We can’t resist the kitchen store and neither can my sis.  I end up getting all the little gadgets that catch my eye.  It really isn’t an impulse purchase, Since I’ve been drooling over the same items for years.

Finally we are off to dinner.  Sis orders drinks and 4 appetizers…not just for her.  She loves to indulge and spoil everyone.  We spend forever deciding on entrees, which is why she always orders starters.  Two drinks down already.  Don’t forget to order the wine too.  We’re chatting about what we should do together Sun.  Should we go to the aquarium or should we crab off the dock and have a seafood fest in their suite?  It has a kitchen and they cook and clean the crab for us at the dock.  Crabbing wins!

Our entrees show up and three bites in we start trading entrees.  Mercy and I switch.  So many times what I order she will like better and vice-versa.  We really should start ordering for each other.  I guess we already do. 🙂

We get desserts to go, because we too full right now.  We head back to the resort…we booked adjacent rooms…hilarious.  We really should call each other before trips, even spontaneous ones!

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/02/21/daily-prompt-good-time/

============================================================

Other Daily Prompt Responses:

 

  1. Daily Prompt: Nothin’ But A Good Time | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  2. Nothin’ but a Good Time | Alexia Jones
  3. A day to myself… | mombox
  4. My ideal day: can I turn back time? | Melanie Ryding – Ryding2Health BLOG
  5. Hi higher horizons! | litadoolan
  6. DIFFERENT KIND OF FUN! | DANDELION’S DEN
  7. Daily Prompt: Nothin’ But A Good Time | seikaiha’s blah-blah-blah
  8. [M.M.X.I.V. 53] Whoa-oh-oh-oh! | Never A Worry
  9. One day I will | My Weigh To Lose
  10. Daily Prompt: Nothin’ But A Good Time | Foto Challenge
  11. A good day | Sue’s Trifles
  12. Nothing but a good time. | The Wonder of Yarrow House
  13. Daily Prompt: Day Off | Morrighan’s Muse
  14. Our Blogs (2-23-14) | My Blog imanagementbywordpress
  15. Staying in Focus:Daily Prompt: Good Time | Staying in Focus
  16. Daily Prompt: Nothin’ But a Good Time-Planning life | Journeyman
  17. The Riddle of the Sands | Exploratorius
  18. The Genie Lied And The Daily Prompt | The Jittery Goat
  19. Where in the world is my Postcard? | Greg Urbano
  20. Master Manipulators: response to Daily Prompt | alienorajt
  21. Let’s Get This Party Started ! | Knowledge Addiction
  22. Good Times! Daily Post | Destino
  23. Magical moment | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  24. I can catch that shark with my eyes closed 🙂 | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  25. couples massage | Life Love Lily
  26. Nothin’ but a good time | The Shevster’s Space
  27. Mirth Sublime | Eleazar’s Writing Space
  28. Fun | dandelionsinwind
  29. of dreams and nightmares | Anawnimiss
  30. Zip. Zero. Nada. Niks. Nothing! | thoughtsofrkh
  31. Tonight I fly high: Spiritual Tankas of Fun | 365 days of defiance
  32. Daily Prompt: Nothin’ But A Good Time | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  33. She’s whispering in colour… | Hope* the happy hugger
  34. Daily Prompt: Nothin’ But A Good Time | Awl and Scribe
  35. a suicide for a free day……. | ensuing light…
  36. Nothin’ But A Good Time | The Nameless One
  37. Friday Fast One – Fun | Tommia’s Tablet
  38. Daily Prompt: Nothin’ But A Good Time | Cee’s Photography
  39. Resources for taking a geography-based literary tour of the US | Andrea Reads America
  40. 2 Core Beliefs For Having A Good TIme | Ako Si Ehm Blog
  41. Daily Prompt: Nothin’ But A Good Time « Mama Bear Musings
  42. The Crazy Next 24 hours | Phelio a Random Post a Day
  43. Daily Prompt: Nothin’ But A Good Time | Basically Beyond Basic
  44. Fun | Poetry response to Daily Prompt | Focal Breeze
  45. Daily Prompt: Nothin’ But A Good Time | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  46. Nothin’ But A Good Time | Flowers and Breezes
  47. I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  48. DP: Good Times Planned | Scorched Ice
  49. Leisure Redefined | Views Splash!
  50. West of Eldora | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  51. Among the Whispers
  52. Nothin’ But A Good Time On Sunday Drive Anytime | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  53. A Perfect Day | snapshotsofawanderingheart
  54. Tunzo Funzo: A daily prompt blog | Maria For Real
  55. Like my birthday, perhaps? | Casually Short
  56. day one of a fun filled future forever | peacefulblessedstar
  57. One Crazy Mom » A Day Off
  58. Having a good time | Processing the life
  59. The Best of Life | Emotional Fitness
  60. A good Time | Life is great
  61. A Day Without Stress – Wellbeing | WANGSGARD.COM
  62. The Rock Anthem by Poison and the Temptation of Eve | meanderedwanderings
  63. A PERFECT DAY | SERENDIPITY
  64. All But A Simple Day | Navigate
  65. Ooo ye sweet freedom !!!! | Life Confusions
  66. Daily Prompt: Nothin’ But A Good Time « cognitive reflection
  67. Do Anything! | Cats, Coffee, And Life At Random
  68. Whimsy in a bottle: Rock concerts, road trips, cocktails and slides « psychologistmimi
  69. My super/awesome/spectucular/epic perfect day(s) | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project”
  70. Vacation Wishes | Thoughts Less Traveled
  71. Day of Procrastination | djgarcia94
  72. The Fun In Between | Stiletto Momma
  73. Busy doing nothing. | Tales of a slightly stressed Mother!
  74. Fun | The Land Slide Photography
  75. Daily Prompt: Being Free! | All Things Cute and Beautiful
  76. Six Things You Can Do To Help a Friend With Depression Have a Better Day
  77. Land Of Mike
  78. Daily Prompt: Nothin’ But A Good Time | snippets and words
  79. The Red Baron of Kauai | Jaspa’s Journal
  80. Have ALL THE FUN! | Thorough and Unkempt
  81. My Ideal Introvert Day | 61 Musings
  82. Nothin’ But A Good Time | melissuhhsmiles
  83. Day of no obligations: Chattanooga Style | Relocate to Chattanooga
  84. Daily Prompt: Nothin’ But A Good Time | A Day In The Life
  85. A Day Without a Mental Illness: What Would I Do With Myself? | Schizo Incognito
  86. Daily Prompt: Nothin’ But a Good Time | Life’s So Sweet
  87. Day 52… Nothin’ But A Good Time… Lazing about | Dear Blog ’14
  88. Daily Prompt: Fun | Occasional Stuff
  89. Daily Prompt: Nothin’ But A Good Time | Brittney Ortega
  90. 267. A Day to Myself | Barely Right of Center
  91. Daily Prompt: My Day | Lady K’s Lounge
  92. we explore with our | y
  93. Owl Be Back! | Overcoming Bloglessness
  94. Daily Prompt: Nothin’ but a good time | Occasional Stuff
  95. Suicide no. 28: Limerick | derekalanwilkinson
  96. Have A Break | THE MARRIED MAN WHO LOVES HIS X
  97. That Was Kind of the Plan | My Author-itis
  98. Daily Prompt: Nothin’ But A Good Time | Yowza, Here We Go!
  99. How to Spend a Snow Day | Kosher Adobo
  100. Playing Hooky | Edward Hotspur
  101. Nothin’ But A Good Time | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real
  102. fun…our fountain of youth | In The Moment
  103. Beware: Nothin’ but a good time | The Christian Gazette
  104. Daily Prompt: Fun | That Montreal Girl
  105. And it don’t get better than this! | artymaz’s inky fingers
  106. Daily Prompt: Nothin’ But A Good Thing | Christina Designs Art
  107. http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/02/21/daily-prompt-good-time/ | preethikarthik06
  108. Fun is not the word I’d use… | Making Life an Art
  109. Tales of Tails | field of thorns
  110. Wrapped Up In To One | Wanderlein
  111. Daily Prompt – Good time – About town on the velo |
  112. Saturday morning good times | Empressnasigoreng’s Blog
  113. My ideal introvert day | Susi Matters
  114. Daily Prompt: Nothing But a Good Time | SIM | ANTICS
  115. Happiness is… | Rima Hassan

 

 

7 Comments

Filed under Daily Prompts, Mercy & Me

7 responses to “Nothin’ but a Good Time

  1. Pingback: [M.M.X.I.V. 53] Whoa-oh-oh-oh! | Never A Worry

  2. Pingback: Hi higher horizons! | litadoolan

  3. Pingback: Fun. | Love.Books.Coffee.

  4. Pingback: What’s Your Pacifc Rim Robot Name? Let’s Make One Together! | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  5. Pingback: Share Your World – Week 12 | Alexia Jones

Leave a Reply

