Walking on the Moon

What giant step did you take where you hoped your leg wouldn’t break? Was it worth it, were you successful in walking on the moon, or did your leg break?

There have been a lot of giant steps for me in the last 16 years with Mercy.  In fact, many people along the way kept waiting for my leg to get broken, it never did.

Everyone in my life were just like many of the viewers on Earth of the Moon Landing.  They had no clue what the Moon was really like, so they just let their imagination run wild.  They used their own experiences to color what they saw.  They couldn’t see what the surface was actually like.

Why do people judge everything with there own eyes?  We all do it.  How often do we see the actions of a complete stranger and make a lot of assumptions about what is really going on?  I know I do it all the time.  Maybe it is entertainment for us.

But why do we do it to our friends too?  I think we do it to be right.  To be able to say, “I knew that was going to happen.”

Well, in my case, they were wrong.  Sticking with Mercy hasn’t broken anything about me.   In fact the only decisions that have really bit me in the ass were ones that all of my friends and loved one fully supported me in.

Like buying a house.  Now that decision did break a leg after the leap.  It took 12 years to heal and get rid of the cast.  We now are house-free, but still together and much better off!

This was a response to the Daily Prompt about Taking a Leap.

Here are some other creative responses:

12 Comments

Filed under Daily Prompts, Mercy & Me

12 responses to “Walking on the Moon

  1. Buying a house is a big investment,in the long run it is better than paying rent every month.

    • I will have to agree to disagree with you on that point. It’s not always an investment. In our case it caused us more financial, physical, and mental pain than it was worth. And in the end we didn’t get anything back in return except regrets and lessons learned. We will probably never be home owners again and that I will not regret. Despite our difference in opinions, I want to thank you for stopping by reading my blog and commenting.

  2. ah, I hear you on assumptions, but like you said we all are guilty off it. Great blog post – and yes, I can understand how owning a house could be trouble, we rent a condo, and while it is not ideal for us, and we will be owning a home soon, it is not for everyone and not something to be taken lightly. Have a great day!

    • Yes, we are all guilty of assumptions. I am trying to reduce the number of times that I partake in that evil little vice. Thank you for stopping by and commenting. I wish you well with your home. As for us, home ownership is not the ideal, so we will enjoy renting til the end of our days. 🙂

    • As Claudia said,it’s not for everyone. I’ve heard people say rather than pay rent every month it’s better to own it because it’s an investment. I was just quoting them.
      Nice to read your thoughts on the subject.

  3. Pingback: Sunday Snapshot: Walking on the Moon | Tommia's Tablet

  4. Pingback: Walking On The Moon – You Kidding! | Views Splash!

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Walking on the Moon | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Walking on the Moon | The Wandering Poet

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt Catch-up: Walking on the Moon | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer

  8. Wow I also was pushed into a house by my mother due to weak boundaries and its like a millstone around my neck at times. I’m glad you broke free. Excellent blog. Thank you.

    • Thank you. I am not angry with those who pushed me, but I wish I would’ve thought longer about it. I am different than many people, in that I do not think everyone should go to college, own a house, get married, and/or have kids. Many can live happy and full lives without any or all of those ‘normal’ paths.

      I’m really enjoying blogging and hope my enjoyment shines through.

Leave a Reply

