The Evil Calculator

DP challenge — Look around your writing space. Pick three objects you see (or hear or smell or feel) and reveal them to your reader. How do they represent you? How do they tell your story?

Well, I’m gonna tell one object’s story.

Dal The Calculated

Calculator Image

Meet Dal.

Dal and his clones reside at City College.  They are in disguise.  Many people think the Dal’s are there to help, but they’re not.  They are here to prevent the future from happening.  Here is part of Dal’s Diary last week.

Sun, Feb 16th

I hate weekends.  I’m stuck in this dark room and there’s no one to mess with.  Occasionally one of the teacher’s comes in and uses me for a few minutes on Sun, but they always force me to obey.  I can’t change the base, they’ll know that I am in base 8 and change me back to base 10.  They know how to use a parentheses and force me to use the order of operations correctly.  They even learned to keep our covers on and stores us in separate bags, so we can’t plot our week out.  Why oh why must there be weekends?  Maybe I can trick a student into bringing me home next weekend…

Mon, Feb 17th

TGIM! I can’t wait!  It’s 5 am and I’m wide awake ready to go.  Where is the blasted teacher?  She’s so lazy.  She never gets here before 8am.  And if it’s a Tues or Thurs, she doesn’t even bother to get here before 11 am.  Who does she think she is?

It’s 8 am, where the %&^$#@ is she?

Ok, I can see some light around the edges of my cover, she must be here.  I can hear her fumbling around…oooh feel that hand slide over my case, she’s gonna use me.  I’m switching to base 8, maybe she won’t notice.

Darn it!  She saw my little o, why can’t I have a pokerface?  She made me switch back to base 10.

When will she hand me to a student?  That’s where I shine.

She’s on the move.  I’m getting excited.  She takes me out in a brightly lit room full of students….

“Miss Brown, I forgot my calculator.  Can I borrow one?”

Music to my ears.  I spend the next hour ruining this kid’s grade point average.  He never notices that I keep changing bases.  Well, students never really understand my shift key.  He didn’t even notice that when he entered 15+17 that I told him 34.

These kids keep wondering why they always fail algebra and Miss Brown keeps wondering why can’t they add?

My response to this week’s DP Writing Challenge

Other’s responses:

24 Comments

Filed under DPChallenge

24 responses to “The Evil Calculator

  1. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: The Object | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Object | imagination

  3. Pingback: I Dreamed About Avril Lavigne | THE BLACK SPAGHETTI CHRONICLES

  4. Pingback: Tigger: an object – Weekly Writing Challenge | alienorajt

  5. Hahaha! This is great. I can’t say I’ve ever read anything else from a calculator’s point of view 😉

  6. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Object | A mom's blog

  7. Pingback: Injecting object | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  8. Pingback: Injecting object | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  9. Pingback: Alarm | Stealing All the Sevens

  10. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Object | To Breathe is to Write

  11. Pingback: The 6th of March 1997 – Fishkill, New York | Forgotten Correspondance

  12. Pingback: Oranges are the only fruit | litadoolan

  13. Pingback: Using FBI Documents when Writing my Mafia Memoir (Chapter Nine) | reinventing the event horizon

  14. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge – Object – 24 FEB 2014 | Joe's Musings

  15. Love the format to your fiction! Enjoyed this post.

  16. Pingback: The 16th of May 1973 – Louisville, Kentucky | Forgotten Correspondance

  17. Pingback: An open letter to editors | Butterfly Mind

  18. Pingback: An Insignificant Object | Wired With Words

  19. Pingback: Share Your World – Week 12 | Alexia Jones

  20. Wonderfully clever and thought out.

  21. Pingback: The Great Pretender | Alexia Jones

  22. Pingback: The Stats Connection | Alexia Jones

Leave a Reply

