Always Something There To Remind Me

A song comes on the radio and instantly, you’re transported to a different time and place. Which song(s) bring back memories for you and why? Be sure to mention the song, and describe the memory it evokes.

Dave Matthew’s Satellite

Whenever this song comes on, I am transported back to 1996 and a bar that I worked in Mark’s Place.  I was the Sun through Wed night-cook.  The kitchen closed at midnight, so I would tend the bar the rest of the night.  Since I closed the slow nights of the week, there were many days that I was all alone for at least the last half hour of the night.

I had the jukebox to entertain me.  Unfortunately, there were only a few non-country artists in the machine.  My favorite choice was Dave Matthews Band’s Under the Table and Dreaming.  I would grab a stack of red quarters, turn up the volume, and by the time Satellite came on I’d be singing at the top of my lungs and dancing around the room.  I was never alone, Dave was always nearby.

Still brings a smile to my face.

This was for Daily Prompt

More responses:

 

  1. “There You Go Telling Me No Again.” -New Jack City Soundtrack, 1991 | candylocs
  2. Jane | Trucker Turning Write
  3. Daily Prompt: Always Something There To Remind Me | My Other Blog
  4. She Was Just Seventeen | Menimèse Creare
  5. Record Album Memories | In For the Ride
  6. 2000 Nostalgia is a Thing Now | The Book of Shayne
  7. Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  8. Let Go of Your Past | The Christian Gazette
  9. I remember | Elizabeth Stoops- Pastore
  10. Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me | Midwestern Plants
  11. Daily Prompt: How High Does The Sycamore Grow? | SCATTERBRAIN
  12. It’s Yesterday Once More | Willow’s Corner
  13. Daily Prompt: Always something there to remind me | That Montreal Girl
  14. Past: Daily Post | Destino
  15. Relinquished | La Gatita Oscura
  16. Always Something to Remind Me | 365 Days of Thank You
  17. Always Something There to Remind Me | 3 Grandchildren, 2 Grandparents, 2 Cats
  18. Audio Cassettes! I miss you. | The Salmon Yatra
  19. Past | The Land Slide Photography
  20. Daily Prompt: Always Something There to Remind Me – Oh, the Feels | SA:ME (사메)
  21. Mr Seah (dotcom!) | Always something there to remind me
  22. selalu ada hal untuk diingat | The Frozen Tears
  23. Always Something There to Remind Me | Romeo at Twenty
  24. Daily Prompt: Winston Churchill in Drag? | Leigh’s Wordsmithery
  25. I love, love, love my music and the way it makes me feel. | Why is there bread in my Kool-Aid?
  26. Puff, The Magic Dragon | Overcoming Bloglessness
  27. Clarity, courtesy of Dave Matthews | Holoholo Girls
3 Comments

Filed under Daily Prompts

3 responses to “Always Something There To Remind Me

  1. Pingback: of leaving | Anawnimiss

  2. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “Abstract Alliterative Acrostalyptica” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  3. Pingback: I Remember | Late Bloomer Liz

Leave a Reply

