Papa Loves Mambo (Not really)

Daily Prompt: What sort of music was played in your house when you were growing up? What effect, (if any) did it have on your musical tastes?

As I’ve Blogged before (cheap plug) in Let’s Dance and We Got the Beat!, music was a big part of my life from an early age.  Here’s an idea of the eclectic mix of music collections from my parents and grandparents:

    • The Doors
    • Elvis
    • Simon and Garfunkle
    • Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons
    • The Beatles
    • Stevie Wonder
    • Michael Jackson
    • Jackson Five
    • Ella Fitzgerald
    • Luis Armstrong
    • Bing Crosby
    • Frank Sinatra
    • Dean Martin
    • Glenn Miller
    • Beach Boys
    • Aretha Franklin
    • The Mamas and the Papas
    • The Monkeys
    • The Supremes
    • Van Morrison
    • Benny Goodman
    • The Andrews Sisters

This is just a small sampling, the list goes on.

We were able to play any record that they owned, almost anytime that we wanted…ok any rainy day that we wanted.  My grandma had a huge console stereo that you could stack 10+ records at a time.  The only ones that we couldn’t put in the stack were the one-sided extra thick records (I think they may have been shellac instead of vinyl).

We didn’t have to ‘learn’ to appreciate any kind of music jazz, big band, classical, Motown, rock-n-roll, disco, pop, etc were all played on these stereos.  We didn’t think of it as our parents/grandparents’ music; it was ours.

I don’t remember where the adults were during our music education, but we listened, sang along, danced to, and even tried to learn to play them on the piano or organ.  My Gma had a piano and organ with benches full of sheet music.  We learned to read music, at first through the organ that had lighted keys with the letters of their notes and books with the letters on each note.  Then we took a pencil and wrote the letters on the ivories of the piano; we knew not to use pen.

Later we started adding our own spin on our music education.  Latin music came into the mix, but my parents were never into it, so we played it when they weren’t around (hence my title to this post).

Music has always been a part of our lives every where we lived, connected us to our closest friends, and quickly granted us new friends after moves…we were Navy Brats.

My brother went on to learn every woodwind and then some.  He’s an excellent musician and leads a volunteer pep band of all ages.  My sister and I sing and although my brother thinks this makes us less of musicians, I know that he is wrong.  Always need sibling rivalry even in our forties.

How did our parents music influence our later tastes?  I am drawn to great vocals, jazz, blues, R & B, pop, and the occasional well-sung country song.  However, I still listen to almost every genre of music.  When it comes down to it, anything I hear and like is MY music.

Back to Daily Prompt

Other’s responses:

  1. Moon-rock | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  2. Rhythm | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  3. Music, Food and a Dash of Wild | Rose-tinted Rambles
  4. Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo- How a Song Could Brings Back Beautiful Memories | Journeyman
  5. Hey, Hey Good Lookin’ & Divine Providence | The Jittery Goat
  6. A Whole Other Selection | Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo | likereadingontrains
  7. Great Music Never Dies | Musings | WANGSGARD
  8. My Musical Memory Set List (Volume Two) | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project”
  9. Daily Prompt: Papa Loves… | seikaiha’s blah-blah-blah
  10. Daily Prompt: Papa Loves KISS | My Outlook on the World
  11. punk | yi-ching lin photography
  12. A Taste Of Honey | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  13. Sabbatical Songs: growing up in Oxford | ALIEN AURA’S BlOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
  14. One Crazy Mom » Growing Up With Music
  15. Papa Loves Dylan | The Magic Black Book
  16. To Run in a Dream | The Nameless One
  17. Hats, spurs and belts | Kate Murray
  18. The One That Could Have Been [Ndifreke’s Story] | She Writes
  19. Songs Of Yesterday | Awake & Dreaming
  20. Wednesday’s Run | Oldman
  21. A Dream: An Open Letter to Air Supply | Kosher Adobo
  22. Punk | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  23. Will The Real Slim Shady Please Stand Up?! | Life Confusions
  24. 281. Hee Haw and Soap Bubbles | Barely Right of Center
  25. Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo | Basically Beyond Basic
  26. Do The Diversity Dance. | Asta’s Space
  27. The Greatest Generation Had The Best Music | Just Visiting This Planet
  28. Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo | A Mixed Bag
  29. Minutely Infinite | Rewinding the mixtape
  30. Let’s Not Go to the Beach | Green Embers
  31. My Score ::E.N.Howie’s Motivational Moments
  32. DP: TRIOS | DANDELION’S DEN
  33. The Origin of My Musical Taste | wisskko’s blog
  34. Girls’ Studies: Oh, How I Miss the Mix Tape | The Bookshelf of Emily J.
  35. Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo | MythRider
  36. “Papa Loves Mambo” | Relax
  37. the music man | eastelmhurst.a.go.go
  38. Daily Prompt:Papa Loves Mambo | Love your dog
  39. Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo « cognitive reflection
  40. Music – A Flash Fiction | My Little Avalon
  41. “My generation”…when did I grow up? | Brandtastic’s daily ramblings
  42. Forgotten Music | Flowers and Breezes
  43. We Forgot How To Music | Knowledge Addiction
  44. Daily Prompt: The Music of Yesteryear | Rolbos ©
  45. DP Daily Prompt : PAPA LOVES MAMBO | Sabethville
  46. Momma loved country! | Active Army Wife
  47. Songs of the Heart | snapshotsofawanderingheart
  48. From Classical to Pop, 20.03.14 | Markie’s Daily Blog
  49. Ain’t nothing but a Hound | Secrets from the Hound Cave!
  50. Mama Loves Mambo: Daily Post | Destino
  51. Daily Prompt: Music became my coping mechanism. | Willow Blackbird
  52. I Love A Little Bit Of Mambo | Musings of a Soul Eclectic
  53. Life is Hard
  54. Among the Whispers
  55. Mama Can’t Rap | (Don’t Be) Too Timid and Squeamish
  56. Growing up to Moms Music | mskirian
  57. Music in the house | Emovere
  58. Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  59. Daily Prompt: Papa Love Mambo | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer
  60. Music Is What Life Sounds Like | westlifebunny
  61. Blame It On The Bluegrass | Cass’s Useless Opinions
  62. Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo | MARGARET ROSE STRINGER
  63. Living to a different beat | Tales of a slightly stressed Mother!
  64. Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo | GoKittenGo
  65. Daily Prompt: Music To My Ears | Morrighan’s Muse
  66. Music Moves Me | Step Into My Head
  67. Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo « LIVING WITH MY ANCESTORS
  68. Papa loves Mambo | fromdublintoparis
  69. Manly music | Trucker Turning Write
  70. The Fabric of Music | In So Many Words
  71. Music! | My Author-itis
  72. B.Kaotic
  73. Days Of Music Passed | Edward Hotspur
  74. Daily Prompt challenge: What music played in your home growing up and what effect did it have on your music taste? | A cup of noodle soup
  75. Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo | That Montreal Girl
  76. Music In My Life | 365 Days of Thank You
  77. Is your playlist up-to-date? | Random & Real
  78. My Fab Four. | Simple Heart Girl
  79. Playing Second Fiddle | Wiley’s Wisdom
  80. Daily Prompt: Mainly Country but also quite eclectic. | cockatooscreeching
  81. A Sinfonietta of Five | When the Door Closes
  82. Papa Loves Mambo | Laughing Through Life
  83. Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo – Sound of Music | SA:ME (사메)
  84. Daily Prompt: Papa Loves Mambo but Mama – Mama is a Different Story – Mama is a Big Bands Kinda Gal | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  85. The Breakfast Soundtrack – Compass & Quill
  86. Friday, I’m In Love! | Hey, Miss Adventures!
  87. Earth, Wind &…Mariah? (The Daily Post: Papa Loves Mambo) | The Polka Dot Penguin
  88. Records My Parents Played | Polymathically
6 Comments

Filed under Daily Prompts, music, Uncategorized

6 responses to “Papa Loves Mambo (Not really)

  1. You were lucky to be introduced to a variety of music.

    • Thank you for stopping by and commenting. Yes, I was very lucky about most of my childhood. We had problems and weren’t perfect, but I definitely was shown an appreciation for the arts. The funny thing is that my parents don’t still have that appreciation or I just imagined it. LOL

  2. Pingback: [M.M.X.I.V. 80] Change it! | Never A Worry

  3. Your list sounds like one I would make! 🙂 Enjoyed your post!

  4. I love that The Doors is the first on the list.

  5. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Poem / Poetry – “Facing The Music” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

