The Great Pretender

Daily Prompt: The Great Pretender

Are you full of confidence or have you ever suffered from Impostor Syndrome? Tell us all about it.

Just like in my belief in destiny/fate, my answers are always complicated.  Nothing is ever black and white.  I am halfway an impostor and half way full of confidence.

Ways that I show suffering from Impostor Syndrome:

  • I always say that I’m not funny.  When I get people to laugh, I generally am extremely amazed.  But I see proof of my humor all the time, like when I get feedback from silly stories/posts. (See Errands with Hermione or The Evil Calculator)

  • I have known how to read music since grade school and have sung just as long.  (See We Got the Beat) So why was I so surprised during my first group piano class, when I flew through the lessons and was playing songs faster than others?  I had always said that I would never be able to play the piano because of my small doll-like hands…what a crock.

I also show my confidence:

  • I can walk into a classroom with no notes and only a cursory glance at the topic of the day and lecture with no butterflies in my stomach.  Those classes review me as being extremely prepared and knowledgeable.  I really don’t feel like I need many notes, only examples of problems to work out.  I know the math backwards and forwards.
  • I thought I was nervous when I stood up to sing that first karaoke song earlier this month.  But it wasn’t because I didn’t think I’d be good enough.  I realized later that I was nervous because I wanted to pick a song that would make everyone else to know I was more than good enough.

So I guess I’m confident, cocky, a pretender, and some times I even have some humility.

 

More responses:

  1. Anawnimiss’s stops pretending with of hope
  2. Journeyman is finding his self-worth
  3. Jared learns he has Impostor Syndrome
  4. My Little Avaon finds courage
  5. Sabethville has confidence
  6. Perspectives on life, universe and everything talks about Shame
  7. Love your dog gives us a pet’s perspective on pretending
  8. The Ambitious Drifter tells us we’re all Confident Impostors
  9. She writes about labels and their misuse by the narrow-minded
  10. Samir is no longer a ‘fraidy cat
  11. Youer than you tries not to doubt
  12. Kosher Adobo talks about the dangers of disappearing
  13. melisuhhsmiles boosts confidence
  14. The Zombies Ate My Brains has learned to see red flags
Leave a comment

Filed under Challenges, Daily Prompts

Leave a Reply

