Daily Archives: August 17, 2016

Ghost

Daily Post Prompt: Ghost

It was a late Saturday morning.  I didn’t have anywhere to be, so I was sleeping in.  The sun was already shining bright in the room, but I figured I could sleep a little more.  I felt Mercy sit down on the edge of the bed.  I felt her stroke my hair.  The room was so quiet, I could even hear my hair move as she played with it.  I slowly opened my eyes with a smile.  No one was there.  I looked around the room.  There wasn’t even a kitty in sight.  Wow, I must be still dreaming.  Oh, well.

I fell back asleep.  It happened again.  What the…?  I must be still dreaming.

I shook it off and closed my eyes again, but didn’t drift off this time.  I didn’t want to get up yet.  My hair gets stroked again.

I shot out of the bed and was down the stairs and in the living room in 3 seconds flat.

Mercy looks at me and says, “You look like you’ve seen a ghost.”

“I didn’t SEE one…”

1 Comment

Filed under Daily Prompts, Mercy & Me, Wonder and Awe