Young At Heart

What are your thoughts on aging? How will you stay young at heart as you get older?

This Daily Prompt came at a great time.  I turned 40 this month and ended up having three celebrations.

The first party was dedicated to bar-hopping.  We started at 8 pm and ended at 2 am, only because only Ivy (my sis) and I were left.  We drank and danced at three different bars, had racy conversations, got to know some acquaintances in ways only drunk people can, twisted an ankle in heels, and generally acted like we were still in our twenties.  The only difference because of our age was our transportation choice –walking and taxis, rather than walking to Ihop and staying until someone was sober enough to drive.

The next day, I slept late and was completely useless.  It was wonderful.

My second party was a week later.  Ivy wanted us to hit a drag show near her town.  Mercy begged out and since she partied with me til 1 am the week before I didn’t object.  This night was full of changes.

I decided that I had drank enough the week before, so I could be the designated driver and still have a good time.  The drag show was a half-hour away, so it only made sense to have a D.D. instead of taking taxis.  We ended up not going to the drag show because no one verified that the cover was the normal $3.  There ended up being some fundraising event that night, which would increase the cover by another $20 a piece.  So we regrouped and decided to go to karaoke.  I did end up having one drink of liquid courage to gear up for singing.

This bar had a full range of talents getting up to sing.  I was amazed at the courage of some absolutely horrible singers.  There were two who were so bad that I was afraid they would be booed off.  Luckily the crowd was a nurturing group; they cheered just as loud  for the bad performances as the great performances.  People would sing along and help the performers to find the beat and the tune.

I finally wrote my name and song on a little slip of paper and handed it to the K.J.  I sang “Galileo” by the Indigo Girls, “By Your Side” by Sade, “She Works Hard For The Money” by Donna Summers, and signed up for “Time After Time” by Cyndi Lauper…but ran out of time.

There were some other songs that I heard sung that night or saw the listing for that I want on my list for next time:

“Gloria”  Laura Branigan

“Something to Talk About”  Bonnie Raitt

“Zombie”  Cranberries

“I’m the Only One” Melissa Etheridge

I’m sure that the list will grow…I am hooked.

The night ended weird though.  We ended up back at one of Ivy’s friends house with two more carloads of people and the bartenders for an after party.  This brought me back to my clubbing days and not in a good way.  More than half of the new crowd were strangers before that night, so a fight almost broke out, a dude that no one new was passed out on the couch, and soon I was the only sober person in the house.  I eventually ended up on another couch reading my Kindle til Ivy was ready to leave at 4:45 am.  After a trip through McDonald’s drive through, the drive back to Ivy’s house, a stop at Walmart for allergy meds, etc, I was finally in bed by 6 am.

The finale for my birthday was the following day, a family dinner.  One part of the family could come due to a cold.  I was struggling for breath most of the day due to my asthma and a severely high pollen count this week.  We had one of my favorite dishes, Chicken Marsala and finished off with a dessert sampler with chocolate and caramel drizzle.  There was a little bit of drama, but what family function is drama free?

So now back to the second question?

Now as I age, what do I do to stay young?

Try to live in the now, not judge, and forgive…and by all means have as many parties as you can!

More responses:

  1. Secrets of the universe | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  2. Child’s play 🙂 | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
  3. Coffee-drinking on a bench, in a Sunny Morning | НЕКОИ МАЛИ НЕШТА ПИСАТЕЛСКИ
  4. Age is relative… | Hope* the happy hugger
  5. Forever Old | Musings | WANGSGARD
  6. Forever Young | Knowledge Addiction
  7. The Daily Prompt & Being First | The Jittery Goat
  8. Young at Heart | Kate Murray
  9. HIGH HOPES | Seif Salama Karem
  10. Seconds | INKLINGS
  11. Daily Prompt: Young At Heart | seikaiha’s blah-blah-blah
  12. The Click-Over | jigokucho
  13. Daily Prompt: Young At Heart | Awl and Scribe
  14. “Young at Heart” | Relax
  15. Aging With Grace | The Giardino Journey
  16. Daily Post: Young at heart | Love your dog
  17. Daily Prompt: Young At Heart | Life is not for everyone.
  18. DP Daily Prompt: Young At Heart | Sabethville
  19. Daily Prompt: Young At Heart: When I am an old woman I shall wear purple | Healthy Harriet
  20. Daily Prompt: Young At Heart | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  21. Daily Prompt: Young At Heart | littlegirlstory
  22. Aging is Seen Clearest, in the Mirror! | meanderedwanderings
  23. Young At Heart Forever? | Awake & Dreaming
  24. “Emotionally Subnormal”: Comic Book Culture and its Intended Audience | A Wiser Fella Than Myself Once Said…
  25. Young At Heart | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  26. Daily Prompt: Young at heart. | A cup of noodle soup
  27. Daily Prompt: Young At Heart | wisskko’s blog
  28. Daily Prompt: Young at Hearts- psychology and phylosophy behind getting old | Journeyman
  29. Staying Young… | Haiku By Ku
  30. How To Be Young Again | The Moon Head
  31. Didn’t Die Before I Got Old | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  32. I Will Never Grow Old | Flowers and Breezes
  33. Daily Prompt: Young at Heart | That Montreal Girl
  34. Responsibly Immature | The Ravenously Disappearing Woman
  35. Yeah, About That Whole “Adult” Thing… | The Magic Black Book
  36. Forget the Glory Days – Make a New List
  37. old man look at me now | eastelmhurst.a.go.go
  38. Don’t Poke Your Xiphoid Process: The Difference Between 30 And 40… | Steve Says…
  39. Why Aging Doesn’t Scare Me | Timothy L. Cerepaka’s Blog
  40. Happily Aging | My Author-itis
  41. Young At Heart | So Many Blogs, So Little Time
  42. Ch-Ch-Changes | Bright Tuesday
  43. Daily Prompt: Young At Heart | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  44. Daily Prompt: Young At Heart | Basically Beyond Basic
  45. Age Is Just A Number | Life Confusions
  46. Young Heart | Le Journal D’Une Cheval Noire
  47. Daily Prompt: Young At Heart | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  48. You’re Asking the Wrong Question | Red’s Wrap
  49. Forever Young | swiggityswag
  50. Six-Word Memoirs: AGING | Duniya Ku
  51. Copper Chisel, Bowstring, Monument | Falling into the Milky Way
  52. “I will” | “Crone-ing”
  53. Daily Prompt: Young At Heart | The Bohemian Rock Star’s “Untitled Project”
  54. Spinning dust | shame
  55. We dance through the ages growing wiser evermore « psychologistmimi
  56. S. Thomas Summers: Writing with Some Ink and a Hammer | To Shake Hands with a Goblin: a Fable (Part II)
  57. Learning is My Fountain of Youth | Living with Post Concussion Syndrome
  58. Daily Prompt – Young at Heart | hometogo232
  59. WHERE IS IT? | MY OWN KIND OF LIFE
  60. What’s My Age Again? | Baby Gates Down
  61. Fountain of Youth Lies in the Silly | The Shotgun Girls
  62. The kid inside each of us! | The Insight of a young soul
  63. My Heart’s Ambivalent | A.C. Melody
  64. Daily Prompt: Young at Heart | Musings of a Menopausal Maven
  65. Some wacky life-lessons for all ages from this past week’s weird news « psychologistmimi
  66. Sacred Heart. | Trucker Turning Write
  67. How to be a 30-year-old Woman… According to HS Sophomores | Kosher Adobo
  68. Daily Prompt: Young At Heart | artbysharim
  69. Forever Young: Daily Post | Destino
  70. Old at Heart, and Growing Up | thanks for letting me autograph your cat
  71. 50, Really, is NOT the New 30! | 365 Days of Thank You
  72. Aging- the clock you can’t stop | SusannaAntihero
  73. Fountain Of Youth | mesardonicmesarcastic
  74. Feeling my age | Mindful Digressions
  75. Daily Prompt: Young At Heart | Be Good.
  76. Daily Prompt: Young At Heart | imagination
  77. Aging Is A Blessing | B.Kaotic
  78. Young At Heart | The Land Slide Photography
  79. A Birthday to Remember | U Be Cute – Follow the child inside of you…
  80. Age Shouldn’t Matter Unless You’re Cheese | westlifebunny
  81. Daily prompt: Aging? The privilege of having the chance | helen meikle’s scribblefest
  82. Daily Post Prompt: Young At Heart | Lady K’s Lounge
  83. Daily Prompt: Young At Heart – Neverland? | SA:ME (사메)
  84. Young at Heart | Active Army Wife
  85. Young at Heart | Talking to the moon
  86. On aging | Willow’s Corner
  87. A Blog for Laura Lee

1 Comment

Filed under Daily Prompts, Uncategorized

One response to “Young At Heart

  1. It’s a good way to stay young.

Leave a comment